Post Tournament Awards: Rolled Tacos

Growing up I was a big fan of the frozen taquitos from the local mega mart.  It was not until I was introduced to taco shops that I realized just how good a true rolled taco, fresh out of the fryer, can be. 

img_0047

Best Rolled Tacos: Santana’s

I have to be honest.  I was pretty dissapointed with most the rolled tacos I tried throughout the tournament.  Santana’s were okay, but this is not a full-fledged endorsement.  The beef was solid, and the cheese properly melted, but in no way were they exceptional.

Also Considered:

Caliente-Received the same score in the finals as Santana’s for their rolled tacos.  Again, pretty good, but nothing to rush out for.

Worst Rolled Tacos: Aiberto’s

Aiberto’s rolled tacos were horrendous.  The taste reminded me of frozen taquitos poorly nuked in the microwave (Note: I always prefered to cook my frozen taquitos in the oven.  The result was a crispier shell).  They were flavorless, and contained barely any beef.  The guacamole tasted like something taken out of a year old package and mixed with water.  The only redeeming quality was that halfway through my first rolled taco, the cheese melted to the perfect consistency.

Also Considered:

Nobody.  Aiberto’s was that bad…

img_0002

3 Responses to Post Tournament Awards: Rolled Tacos

  1. John B says:

    I live in the UTC area, and around here the Santana’s is really horrible. The service is always rude and the fact that you can’t get their best salsas unless you eat there stinks. Around here the best rolled tacos IMHO are from Roberto’s on Miramar Rd. They don’t go overboard on the guac and give you a good amount of the cotija cheese, and some lettuce. Other places drown your rolled tacos in guac, sour cream, and way too much grated cheese, which I can’t stand. Your picture of Aiberto’s actually looks like what I’m talking about.

  2. Jeff says:

    If you get down to Chula Vista, on 3rd Ave right North of Main Street is Sr. Pancho’s. Their rolled tacos are tops, in my opinion. Any rolled taco that does not include the cotija cheese fails, really. Those white crumbles are a must, and they do it right down there.

Leave a Reply

